when everything else fails

Footprints


the wonder in your eyes that fine day
imprinting our feet a warm long trail
on a beach one sunset one wonderful may
holding tight and lost from a blowing misty gale

the mischief in your eyes when you softly whispered
those sweet words they still vibrates the smallest bones in me
softly throbs a place in me where a cherub’s arrow entered
we let waves poke our toes a game we played with the sea

. . .

today i walk this beach alone and cloaked for the lack of you
but every feeling of your warmth lay within me enshrined
this beach feels ever the same but lingers the lack of you
memories of our time together still runs fresh in my mind

oh see i cannot find our footprint trial by the sea
so magical in my memories they seemed to be
and this sea ever playful has run silent with shame
i know it did rub off our footprints it is to blame

9 responses

  1. Beautiful.. i love it so much..:-)

    December 6, 2011 at 3:10 pm

  2. the visualization in my head is.. Mal and Cobb from Inception

    December 8, 2011 at 8:53 am

  3. I loved it a lot. Nostalgic.

    December 20, 2011 at 12:45 am

  4. Androgoth

    In between time and thought, where yesteryear
    sings the melody of love there is an echo that lives
    on, a memory that triggers harmony, and a true
    feeling of warmth…

    A very nice poem my friend :)

    Androgoth

    December 21, 2011 at 9:32 am

  5. Androgoth

    I hope that you have had a nice
    Christmas Fallenelegy and are now
    looking ahead to 2012 that is going
    to be full of wicked naughtiness, well
    I surely hope so anyway :) lol

    Have a great evening my friend :)

    Androgoth

    December 30, 2011 at 3:19 am

  6. Love the reflective nature of this!

    December 31, 2011 at 12:54 am

  7. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Ah, loss. I feel this. It’s wonderful when you have a partner, are walking by the sea.

    Very well expressed poem… footprints by the ocean always erode, get replaced.

    Happy New Year :)

    January 1, 2012 at 8:01 am

  8. Androgoth

    I hope that you are well my friend :)
    Have a great start to your week and
    have a wonderful Monday :)

    Androgoth

    January 16, 2012 at 6:12 pm

  9. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    “Alone and cloaked” – I liked that imagery.

    This is a lovely poem, & I can feel it. I love foot prints in the sand at a beach – it evokes a lot of feeling about “how long we’re here for” and “who we’re walking with” (at the time). Excellent close.

    February 5, 2012 at 5:20 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers