when everything else fails

Winter Moon

look down at me winter moon so blue
these auburn forests dare hide thee
so look from behind their rustling twigs
come back enshroud me in your magic

we made hay in the autumn
our barns are full thanks good fortune
those fields we toiled are now bare
our frozen lake is now crystal clear

my barn is warm but my soul is cold
so with emptiness i tread this land
violin in hand and a tune in heart
to spend a lonely night by the lake

i like how it mirrors your silvery hair
and etched within ice is your smile
my forever childish soul does care
about winters long ago past
oh my moon how so fast
this emptiness shroud my soul
these shadows cloud my mind

with frozen tears i look at your sky
with heaviness i set my violin to chin
and i will strum this saddening melody
that i can’t play at harvest nights

oh winter moon so blue
come back to earth
my violin tugs for you
come back to earth
my strings tugs for you
so again let us play on ice
let me connect eye to eye
for a kiss oh i can’t reach
beauty oh why so shy
dear you are so high

One response

  1. So sad, so lost . You must have lost a love , to know the pain so well.
    Beautiful.

    September 3, 2011 at 5:05 am

Leave a Reply

