when everything else fails

Window To Old Times

window
when i was younger
i sat by my window
dreaming of sights yonder
shaded by a cooling shadow
of an oak planted long ago
i saw the children play
that sweet boy from the hillside
play ball with friends from below
on a bicycle that beauty their teacher
rides on her way to school
and i saw the old folks gossip
about minute matters
they all brought a smile
and sweet memories to last
times does change so fast
in a moment it shatters
now every morning i open my eyes
the window to my old soul
then i open my cracked window
by that shady oak tree
i linger there wondering
where did the children go
where is their teacher now
does the city treat them kindly
i dearly wish so

this is my entry for Poets United Thursday Think Tank 65: Windows. the first time i’m doing so.

5 responses

  1. Again you have captured the essence of memory and how it eats into our souls. I wish you every luck with this your first entry, To my view it is is a worthy entry and personally I think it is a winner.XX

    September 10, 2011 at 4:57 pm

  2. Hi. thanks for visiting my blog. I read your poems too. they are very real and very musical. filled with the charm of existence. keep writing. be in touch.

    September 10, 2011 at 9:22 pm

  3. beautiful memories remains……. 🙂

    September 10, 2011 at 9:25 pm

  4. Love that nostalgic voice.. the scenes unfolding.. until the ending line pondering …

    Great blog you have here… Nice to meet you ~

    September 10, 2011 at 10:31 pm

  5. I enjoyed this this a lot. Went into a daydream to trying to make her happy. Whatever holds her there is a powerful force.

    September 13, 2011 at 11:17 pm

Leave a Reply

