when everything else fails

The Schizoid Suspect

they came every night in shrill voices
to talk about me how dull am i
in manic laughter to expose my vices
in my head tearing my every sigh

drained by every effort to shut their lies
now lay chained i am a promethean son
like a burning cauldron this pale mind cries
it stirs and boils till broth is done

their gaze left me in catatonic states
in this glass house they recited my every move
what became of me are there darker fates
on the witness stand my insanity they proved

4 responses

  1. woowww!! so beautiful.. i love it.. 🙂

    September 17, 2011 at 3:37 pm

  2. We all know THEM well. Thank you again for posting such amazing and deep poetry.

    September 17, 2011 at 4:01 pm

  3. Ah yes, the set is populated and the actors cast. A strange scene indeed. The irony I find lies in the idea that you could be dull and insane. Surely it is the sane people who we all know to be the dull ones. This reminded me of the song “one more day” by Lydia. I love this. Beautiful in a dark menacing way

    September 17, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    • dull is what the voices tell the narrator is, and insane is what the narrator feels he/she is. this is a troubled soul, a schizoid personality under control of those chaotic voices that plague him/her. but feel free to interpret these lines as you feel 🙂 the beauty in poetry lies in how the readers relate to them.

      insane is fun and sane is dull, but i prefer a sane head to go with my most cherished moments. for example you don’t want to be perceived insane at your first date or the day you went for your first job interview. and when the mood fits i would give anything to be insane. for example with my date i would love to hit the dance floor insane, and when the job is paying i would love to spend insanely 😛

      September 21, 2011 at 2:53 pm

Leave a Reply

